British Cycling Announce MTB Worlds Squad for Home World Champs.

There’s arguably little better than taking a Worlds title on home soil, and British Cycling have announced the MTB squad heading north in August.

British Cycling have announced a stacked MTB World Champs squad that will take on the cross country in the Tweed Valley and the downhill at Nevis Range between the 5th and 13th of August at the inaugural UCI Cycling World Championships.


Photo by Nathan Hughes.

Holy mackerel do we have a strong squad heading to Fort William. Danny Hart and Rachel Atherton lead the way as the elder stateshumans of the squad, having them both taken multiple World Champs titles over the years. The opportunities for medals this year really are through the roof.

Fox Boa Leaderboard 2024

Fun fact, only one rider in the current Worlds squad raced the 2007 Fort William World Champs…

Elite Men

  • Laurie Greenland 
  • Danny Hart 
  • Charlie Hatton 
  • Bernard Kerr 
  • Matt Walker 
  • Jordan Williams 
  • Greg Williamson 
  • Phil Atwill (reserve) 
  • Ethan Craik (reserve) 
  • Jack Piercy (reserve) 
  • Joe Breeden (reserve) 

Elite Women

  • Rachel Atherton  
  • Louise-Anna Ferguson 
  • Stacey Fisher 
  • Phoebe Gale 
  • Harriet Harnden 
  • Mikayla Parton 
  • Tahnée Seagrave 
  • Jess Stone (reserve) 
  • Rebecca Baraona (reserve) 
  • Chloe Taylor (reserve) 

Junior Men

  • Rudi Eichhorn 
  • Oscar Griffiths 
  • Will Haines 
  • Alfie Heming 
  • Dom Platt 
  • Owen Rick 
  • Luca Thurlow 
  • Archie Townsend (reserve) 
  • Morgan Williams (reserve) 
  • Leo Frater (reserve) 
  • Will Savery (reserve) 

Junior Women

  • Nina Yves Cameron 
  • Aimi Kenyon 

Cross Country

Photo by Bartek Wolinski.

Another stacked roster in the cross country as man of the moment Tom Pidcock is joined by two Scots in the Elite Men, with local hero and Queen of the Overtakes Isla Short riding alongside Annie Last and 2021 UCI Cross Country World Champion Evie Richards. There’s plenty of talent coming through the ranks in the U23 squad too.

Elite men 

  • Cameron Mason 
  • Cameron Orr 
  • Tom Pidcock 

Elite women 

  • Annie Last 
  • Isla Short 
  • Evie Richards 

Under-23 men 

  • Charlie Aldridge 
  • Joe Blackmore 
  • Corran Carrick-Anderson 
  • Sam Chisholm 
  • Huw Buck Jones 
  • Rory McGuire 

Under-23 women 

  • Anna Flynn 
  • Ella Maclean-Howell 
  • Anna McGorum 
  • Elena McGorum 

Who’s heading to watch their riders go after the stripes on home soil? Let us know on our Facebook page.